More Details for: Negrophobia : an urban parable

 Staff view

You must be logged in to Tag Records

Negrophobia : an urban parable /

by Darius James ; introduction by Amy Abugo Ongiri.

Book Cover
Author: James, Darius
Other Names: Ongiri, Amy Abugo,
Published: New York : New York Review Books, [2019].
Series: New York Review Books classics.
Topics: Racism - Fiction. | African Americans - Fiction. | FICTION / Humorous / Black Humor.
Genres: Electronic books. | Fiction.
Related Information: Excerpt
Tags: Add


Spaces will separate tags.
Use quotes for multi-word tags.


Physical Description: 1 online resource.
ISBN: 9781681373485 (electronic bk.)
1681373483 (electronic bk.)

Copyright: ©2019
Summary: A provocative, raucous dark comedy about race and racism in America, now back in print after twenty-five years and with a new preface by the author. Darius James's scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, truly hilarious, and deeply scary Negrophobia is a wild-eyed reckoning with the mutating insanity of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H. Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.
Other Names: Ongiri, Amy Abugo, 1968- writer of introduction.
Loading SummaryLoading

More Details for: Negrophobia : an urban parable